Malta at a glance



Quick facts

Full name: Republic of Malta
Population: 408,000 (UN, 2008)
Capital: Valletta
Area: Malta is composed of three major islands (and three minor): Malta Island – 246 km2 (94.9 sq miles); Gozo – 67 km2; and Comino – 3 km2. There are also some minor uninhabited islands.
Major languages: Maltese, English
Major religion: Christianity
Life expectancy: 77 years (men), 81 years (women) (UN)
Monetary unit: euro from January 1, 2008
Main exports: Machinery and transport equipment
GNI per capita: $15,31

To continue reading...