Malta at a glance

Special report: Malta 2012/2013: Dawn of a new era


The Maltese archipelago includes the islands of Malta, Gozo, Comino, Comminotto and Filfla. Located south of the Italian island of Sicily between Europe and North Africa, it has been occupied by Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs and latterly France and Britain. Independence from Britain was achieved in 1964, after the Maltese people were awarded the George Cross for defending the island during World War II.

Quick facts
Country name: Republic of Malta (conventional long form); Malta (shor

To continue reading...