Malta at a glance

Malta supplement 2010/11: Growing from a strong base


Fast factsThe Maltese archipelago includes the islands of Malta, Gozo, Comino, Comminotto and Filfla. Located south of the Italian island of Sicily between Europe and North Africa, it has been occupied by Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs and latterly France and Britain. Independence from Britain was achieved in 1964 after the Maltese people were awarded the George Cross for defending the island during World War II. Malta was the smallest of the 10 countries to join the European in May 2004.